The Sandbar at Jetties Beach

SUMMER 2021: Opening end of May!  Visit this page often for updates.

The Sandbar at Jettis Beach offers the quintessential beachfront experience – with a spacious, open-air restaurant and bar and plentiful seating in the surrounding sand, we welcome you to enjoy a wonderfully fresh raw bar, delicious burgers and sandwiches, and traditional clambakes. Paired with a refreshing cocktail and a view of Nantucket Sound, you’ll be sure to experience the perfect Nantucket summer day with us at Sandbar

Jetties Beach Bus Route

The bus leaves town from Broad Street
(in front of the Whaling Museum) every 30 minutes
(on the hour and half hour) from 10:00 a.m. and 5:30 p.m.

The bus leaves Jetties Beach every 30 minutes
(at quarter after and quarter of every hour) from 10:15 a.m. to 5:45 p.m.

For updated rates and service check out the Nantucket Regional Transit Authority.

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

Additional Information

Jetties “Casino” and Bath House

Since May 1904 there has been a public concession and bath house at what is now known as Jetties Beach.  The entire recreation area was created through an Act of the Massachusetts Legislature in 1903.

Section 1 of Chapter 433 of the Acts of 1903:

“The town of Nantucket, by its board of selectmen, at any time within two years after the acceptance of this act as hereinafter provided, may take, by purchase or otherwise, and hold in fee, land not exceeding ten acres in extent, situate on or about the Cliffs Beach, so-called, in said town, and the land so taken shall thereafter be kept and maintained as a public park.”

The property of Elijah Alley at the North Beach, known as “Cliff bathing beach”, sold at public auction to the town of Nantucket for $5,500. The Town borrowed the funds for the sale from the State of Massachusetts, with the understanding that it would be paid back, with interest, over time. This sale did not include the buildings that existed on the property at the time.

 In April 1904 this property was leased by the town to Clifford Folger at a special town meeting for $350 per annum for a term of 15 years with privilege of five years’ renewal. In 1905 Folger had a campus of buildings built that included a main building with two bath houses (one for men and one for women). The concession building and bath house seen today are what remain of the Folger’s main building and one bath house.