Scholarship Committee

About the Committee

Following Nantucket town meeting approval and an act of legislature, a scholarship fund was established in 1987 for the purpose of providing educational financial aid to deserving town residents. A scholarship committee was appointed by the Board of Selectmen to select worthy recipients. This committee shall consist of the Superintendent of schools or his/her designee and seven residents of the Town of Nantucket. Each member shall serve for three years. The criteria for awarding these funds shall be acceptance and attendance at an accredited post-secondary educational institution and all be influenced by academic performance and financial need.


  • All scholarships shall be awarded upon the availability of funds
  • A notice shall be put in the local newspapers prior to the application date
  • Adults returning to school or starting school after a lapse of time since high school graduation shall be encouraged to apply along with graduating seniors
  • Scholarships will be considered once a year

Students Must Complete the Following:

  • An Application Form (PDF)
  • A Personal Statement expressing the student’s education plans and career goals
  • A copy of the student's most recent transcript, including second semester grade
  • A resume including academic honors, employment history, volunteer/community service, and extracurricular activities to date

Scholarship Award Schedule:

  • Applications Available: May 1
  • Applications Due: June 1
  • Decisions: July/August

Return Applications to:

  • Chair, Town of Nantucket Scholarship Committee
    Town Building, 16 Broad Street
    Nantucket, MA 02554

- or email to Town of Nantucket Scholarship Committee

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

Most Recent Agenda (PDF)| View All Agendas and Minutes


Rebecca Woodley-Oliver, Chair
Term Expires: 2025

Margaret Detmer
Term Expires: 2024

Leslie W. Forbes
Term Expires: 2024

Lee W. Saperstein
Term Expires: 2024

Jeanne Miller
Term Expires: 2025

Jana Starr Duarte
Term Expires: 2026

Anthony "Rocky" Fox
Term Expires: 2026

Elizabeth "Beth" Hallett
Nantucket Public Schools Superintendent