Conservation Commission

About the Commission

The Massachusetts Wetlands Protection Act (the Act) requires that no person shall remove, dredge, or alter any bank, freshwater or coastal wetlands, beach, dunes, flat, marsh, meadow or swamp bordering on any resource area as defined in the Act without filing written notice of the intention to perform such work with the Conservation Commission of the Town in which the land is located and receiving a permit from the Commission to perform the work. This mandated authority was reinforced by the 1963 Annual Town Meeting which authorized the establishment of a Conservation Commission for the town. Since that time the Town of Nantucket has developed a Wetlands Bylaw (Chapter 136) to provide further local control.

The Conservation Commission meets remotely every other Thursday at 5:00 pm Via Zoom and You Tube pursuant to Governor Baker’s March 12, 2020 Order Regarding Open Meeting Law.

Information on viewing the meeting can be found at

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

Most Recent Agenda (PDF) | View All Agendas and Minutes

Meeting Schedule


Ian Golding, Chair
Term Expires: 2024

Seth Engelbourg, Vice Chair
Term Expires: 2025

Linda Williams
Term Expires: 2024

Michael Misurelli
Term Expires: 2025

Joseph W. Plandowski
Term Expires: 2025

Mark Beale
Term Expires: 2026

Tim Braine
Term Expires: 2026

Useful Information