Coastal Resiliency Advisory Committee


The Coastal Resiliency Advisory Committee was established by Nantucket's Select Board on April 24, 2019. This committee works with the Coastal Resiliency Coordinator to oversee and finalize the Coastal Resiliency Plan by:

  • Providing input as to Plan modifications/updates/finalization
  • Recommending priority of Coastal Resiliency projects, including review of costs and funding sources/grant opportunities, professional services requirements, next steps, action steps, additional resource needs – including the development of a team of scientific advisors, partnership opportunities
  • Assisting with identifying overlap; opportunities for coordination with other Town plans, including Hazard Mitigation Plan, Harbor Plan, Parks Master Plan, Open Space & Recreation Plan, Coastal Management Plan, Stormwater Management Plan, Master Plan
  • Assisting with obtaining community feedback, including ways to engage seasonal residents – and ensure that all areas of the Island are represented
  • Reviewing pertinent existing regulations to include coastal resiliency accommodations; identify any “disconnects” between regulations and practice and/or conflicts and recommend ways to achieve alignment; reviewing proposed pertinent regulations for coastal resiliency purposes
  • Regularly reviewing information on sea level rise projections with regard to impact on the Island
  • Review the activities of other coastal communities as related to coastal resiliency planning, projects
  • Provide regular updates to the Select Board and Town Administration
  • Other related tasks as may be requested by the Board and/or Town Administration

Contact Us

  1. Vincent Murphy

    Coastal Resilience Coordinator

    Natural Resources

    Physical Address 
    2 Bathing Beach Road
    NantucketMA 02554

    Phone: 508-228-7230


    Monday - Friday
    8:30 a.m. - 12:30 p.m.


On June 30, 2021, the Select Board evaluate the committee and determine a term going forward. 


Mary Longcare, Chair
Term Expires: 2021

Matt Fee, Select Board Representative
Term Expires: 2021

Jennifer M. Karberg, Ph.D, Nantucket Conservation Foundation Representative
Term Expires: 2021

Sarah Bois
Term Expires: 2021

Graeme Durovich
Term Expires: 2021

Conservation Commission member, TBD
Term Expires: 2021

Planning Board member, TBD
Term Expires: 2021

Harbor & Shellfish Advisory Committee member, TBD
Term Expires: 2021

Advisory Committee of Non-voting Taxpayers member, TBD
Term Expires: 2021

Staff assistance

  • Coastal Resiliency Coordinator (and/or designee from Natural Resources Department)
  • Other staff attendance (as needed):
    • Land Use Planners/PLUS (2)
    • Assistant Town Manager for Special Projects
    • Public Outreach Manager
    • Other staff as needed (including Natural Resources Coordinator)

This page was last updated on August 14, 2019.